Six Indian Army Personnel Awarded Shaurya Chakra on Republic Day

Ahead of the Republic Day 2020, the government of India on Saturday released a list of gallantry awards. This year, Shaurya Chakra was awarded to six Indian Army personnel for showing bravery against all odds. Shaurya Chakra, the third highest gallantry award during peace time, was awarded to Lieutenant Colonel Jyoti Lama, Major KB Singh, Naib Subedar Narender Singh, Naib Subedar Sombir, Naik Naresh Kumar and Sepoy Karmdeo Oraon. Wing Commander Abhinandan Varthaman to Get Vir Chakra, 5 IAF Pilots to be Conferred Vayu Seva Medal For Carrying Out Balakot Airstrikes; Yudh Seva Medal For Sqn Ldr Minty Agarwal.

Lt Col Jyoti Lama was awarded the third highest gallantry award for killing two terrorists in an operation in Manipur in July last year. Lt Col Lama also captured fourteen hardcore terrorists in his area of operation. Major Konjengbam Bijendra Singh of Army Air defence deployed with Assam Rifles killed two terrorits in Manipur last year.

Indian Army’s Tweet:

Naib Subedar Sombir of Jat Regiment was awarded Shaurya Chakra posthumously for killing foreign terrorist in operation in Jammu & Kashmir. Naib Subedhar Narender Singh of Parachute Regiment of the Special Forces, was awarded the Shaurya Chakra for engaging and eliminating two armed intruders along the Line of Control. President Ram Nath Kovind Approves 132 Gallantry Award For Armed Forces Personnel and Members of Paramilitary Forces, Check Full List.

Indian Army’s Tweet:


Naik Suresh Kumar of the Jammu and Kashmir Light Infantry gunned down “A++ terrorist” last year. Sepoy Karmdeo Oraon, was awarded Shaurya Chakra for an operation on Line of Control where he was hit by bullet on his bulletproof patka. Even after being hit by the bullet, he lobbed nine grenades and killed two terrorists while thwarting the attack by four terrorists.

Three policemen – Challapilla Narasimha Rao, Kamal Kishore and Aman Kumar were also awarded Shaurya Chakra (posthumously). President Ram Nath Kovind Approved 409 gallantry and defence decorations on Saturday. These includes nine Shaurya Chakras, 28 Param Vishisht Seva Medals, four Uttam Yudh Seva Medals, 53 Ati Vishisht Seva Medals, 10 Yudh Seva Medals, 123 Vishisht Seva Medals.

Published by Sumit Sharma

Journalist and passionate for Indian Defence forces.

2 thoughts on “Six Indian Army Personnel Awarded Shaurya Chakra on Republic Day

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: